Earned Value Management System Interpretation Guide (EVMSIG)

Proudly Serving the EVM Community for 44 Years.
The Leader in Earned Value Management Consulting and Training

EVMS DOD Documents
Earned Value Management System Interpretation Guide (EVMSIG)

Earned Value Management System Interpretation Guide (EVMSIG) – dated March 14, 2019

The DoD Acquisition Data and Analytics (ADA) Integrated Program Management (IPM) Division is accountable for EVM policy, oversight, and governance across the DoD. ADA's objective for the DoD EVMS Interpretation Guide (EVMSIG) is to improve the effectiveness of EVM across the Department. The DoD EVMSIG is used as the basis for the DoD to assess EVMS compliance with the EIA-748 EVMS Standard 32 Guidelines. This revision, as with the original document dated February 2015, was developed in collaboration with DoD EVMS experts from the Office of the Secretary of Defense and the organizations responsible for conducting EVMS compliance reviews including the Defense Contract Management Agency (DCMA), Intelligence Community, and Navy Shipbuilding.

The EVMSIG provides the overarching DoD interpretation of the 32 Guidelines. It serves as the authoritative source for EVMS interpretive guidance and is used as the basis for the DoD to assess EVMS compliance to the 32 Guidelines in accordance with Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement (DFARS) Subpart 234.2 and 234.201. The guide provides the DoD Strategic Intent behind each guideline as well as the specific attributes required in a compliant EVMS. Those attributes are the general qualities of effective implementation that are tested in support of determining EVMS compliance as it relates to the 32 Guidelines.

DoD agencies and organizations charged with conducting initial and continuing EVMS compliance activities such as the DCMA are responsible for establishing amplifying agency procedures and/or guidance to clarify how they are implementing the guide to include the development of evaluation methods for the attributes associated with each of the 32 Guidelines.

Download Document

/* request consultation forms JS */